Where We Are

Where We Are

Alison McGhee

Fiction / Children's / Poetry

From New York Times bestselling author Alison McGhee comes a stunning and heartbreaking story of two teens who fight to reunite when one of them is caught in the web of a sinister cult.Micah and Sesame are true best friends. They safeguard each other's secrets and share their dreams. Micah wants to save his parents from the cult leader who calls himself "the Prophet." Sesame recently lost the last of her own family—her grandmother—and plans to keep a low profile until she turns eighteen to avoid foster care. Together, they never doubt they can build the futures they want. Until Micah disappears. The Prophet has taken Micah, his parents, and the rest of his followers underground. And trying to take on the Prophet in isolation, surrounded by his followers, proves to be a dangerous mistake that leaves Micah hopeless and at the Prophet's mercy. Sesame, left alone, is wracked with fear over what could be happening to Micah. Never before...
Read online
  • 663

Shadow Baby

Shadow Baby

Alison McGhee

Fiction / Children's / Poetry

Clara first spies him through the crack in the stained-glass window of her church, lighting a string of handmade lanterns in the Adirondack woods. A lone old man, Georg Kominsky moves stealthily among the shadow world of his hanging, glittering creations. In Alison McGhee's stunning novel Shadow Baby , eleven-year-old Clara is struggling to find the truth about her missing father and grandfather and her twin sister, dead at birth, but her mother steadfastly refuses to talk about these people who are lost to her daughter. When Clara begins interviewing Georg Kominsky for a school biography assignment, she finds that he is equally reticent about his own concealed history. Precocious and imaginative, the girl invents version upon version of Mr. Kominsky's past, just as she invents lives for the people missing from her own shadowy past. The journey of discovery that these two oddly matched people embark upon is at the heart of this beautiful story about friendship and communion, about discovering what matters most in life, and about the search to find the missing pieces of ourselves. McGhee's prose glistens with shrewd truth and wild imaginings, creating a fine novel that will reverberate in the hearts and minds of readers long after the book is finished. From the Hardcover edition.
Read online
  • 56
All Rivers Flow to the Sea

All Rivers Flow to the Sea

Alison McGhee

Fiction / Children's / Poetry

For seventeen-year-old Rose, it keeps happening—the car crash. The car crash that put her sister, Ivy, in a coma with only a respirator keeping her alive. While Rose tries to find support from her reticent mother, distraction from the series of boys she meets at the town's gorge at night, and empathy from her neighbor William T., what she really needs must come from within herself—a release of what's been welling up inside. Heartrending, honest, and ultimately hopeful, this is the tale of a teenager overwhelmed by trauma and loss, yet steadied by loyal friendship and the solace of first love.
Read online
  • 50
Was It Beautiful?

Was It Beautiful?

Alison McGhee

Fiction / Children's / Poetry

"Alison McGhee's is a novel of simple explanations, simple movement, and Faulkner's favorite, most ferocious question: Can we ever really know one another?"--Los Angeles Times"McGhee has written a lovely and successful third novel. She brilliantly captures the close but guarded ties between residents of a grieving small town, and delivers dialogue with the uncommon and impressive mix of precision, poignancy, and believability." --Minneapolis Star Tribune"McGhee is a beautiful writer, especially in her sense of place and her precision in describing characters." --Twin Cities Pioneer Press"McGhee, author of the critically acclaimed novel Shadow Baby, portrays in spare and beautiful prose a setting and community that recall the cold, hard landscapes of Richard Russo's fiction." --Book PageWas It Beautiful? is a powerful and tender portrayal of loss and renewal at midlife. With singular grace and humor, Alison...
Read online
  • 46

Firefly Hollow

Firefly Hollow

Alison McGhee

Fiction / Children's / Poetry

Firefly. Cricket. Vole. Peter. Can four creatures from four very different Nations help one another find their ways in the world that can feel oh-so-big? Delve into this lush, unforgettable tale in the tradition of Charlotte’s Web and The Rats of NIMH, from the author of the New York Times bestselling Someday.Firefly doesn’t merely want to fly, she wants to touch the moon. Cricket doesn’t merely want to sing about baseball, he wants to catch. When these two little creatures with big dreams wander out of Firefly Hollow, refusing to listen to their elders, they find themselves face-to-face with the one creature they were always told to stay away from…a giant.But Peter is a Miniature Giant. They’ve always been told that a Miniature Giant is nothing but a Future Giant, but this one just isn’t quite as big or as scary as the other Giants. Peter has a dream of his own, as well as memories to escape. He is...
Read online
  • 44
Never Coming Back

Never Coming Back

Alison McGhee

Fiction / Children's / Poetry

When Clara Winter left her rural Adirondack Mountain town for college, she never looked back. Her mother, Tamar, a fiercely independent but loving woman who raised Clara on her own, all but pushed her out the door, forcing Clara to build a new life for herself, far from her roots, far from her high school boyfriend, far from the life she has always known. Now more than a decade has passed, and Clara, a successful writer, has been summoned home. Tamar has become increasingly forgetful and can no longer live on her own. But just as her mother's memory is beginning to slip away, Clara's questions are building. Why was Tamar so insistent that Clara leave home all those years ago? Just what secrets was she hiding? If Clara, too, carries inside her the gene for early-onset Alzheimer's, what does that mean for her own future? With great tenderness and humanity, Alison McGhee tells the story of a young woman finding her way in life, determined to know her...
Read online
  • 19
Snap

Snap

Alison McGhee

Fiction / Children's / Poetry

Eddie Beckey makes lists for just about everything and everyone in her life. And for matters of real importance, she wears (and snaps) an array of colored rubber bands on her wrist. Unfortunately, the world is not always so orderly and knowable. No list can help her cope with what's happening to her best friend, Sally—or change the course of things for Sally's grandmother, whom Eddie has grown to love and depend on as well. With subtlety and insight, novelist Alison McGhee tells the story of a young girl's first encounter with grief, and of the enduring power of friendship.
Read online
  • 17
Pablo and Birdy

Pablo and Birdy

Alison McGhee

Fiction / Children's / Poetry

A boy who drifted into the seaside town of Isla as a baby searches for answers about where he and his parrot came from in this charmer of a tale laced with magical realism from New York Times bestselling author Alison McGhee.The seaside town of Isla has many stories, the most notable being the legend of the Seafaring Parrot. Locals claim that the Seafarer remembers every sound, every whisper, cry, laugh, or snort ever uttered. But, though there have been rumored Seafarer sightings, no one has actually seen the bird before. Other stories surround a boy named Pablo, who had washed up on shore in a blow-up swimming pool as an infant with only a lavender parrot as a companion. Now, on the eve of his tenth birthday, the stories are repeated. "At first I thought it was a huge fish," Emmanuel, the man who found and took Pablo in, says. Pierre, the baker's guess was a good one: Perhaps Pablo has come from an undiscovered country, one unknown to the rest of...
Read online
  • 17