Dreams Come to Life

Dreams Come to Life

Adrienne Kress

Science Fiction & Fantasy / Children's, Young Adult / Steampunk

Seventeen-year-old Buddy has spent most of his life trying to escape the Lower East Side slums of New York City. Working as a delivery boy to support his family, Buddy wants to become an artist, a dream he's sure will never be realized. But that all changes when a delivery job puts him face-to-face with Mister Joey Drew, the eccentric owner of an animation studio.Mister Drew takes Buddy under his wing as an apprentice, thrusting him into a world unlike anything Buddy has ever seen before. There's the colorful cast of the studio, from the cranky, yet driven composer Sammy Lawrence to Dot, the writing intern and Buddy's counterpart. Working for Mister Drew, Buddy starts to think that maybe it's really as simple as Mister Drew says: Dreams do come true. But not everything at the studio is as picture-perfect as it seems . . .Something is going bump in the night at Joey Drew Studios, something that leaves behind trails of thick, dark ink. While the studio frantically...
Read online
  • 275
The Quest for the Kid

The Quest for the Kid

Adrienne Kress

Science Fiction & Fantasy / Children's, Young Adult / Steampunk

The third book in the Explorers series has more mystery, more bravery, more danger than ever before! The perfect read for fans of Chris Grabenstein and The Mysterious Benedict Society!Sebastian is still at large, kidnapped again!Evie is still missing her grandfather, the leader of the Filipendulous Five!And there's still an explorer hanging from the edge of a perilous cliff!All this and more in the third book in the Explorers series: The Quest for the Kid.PRAISE FOR THE THE EXPLORERS SERIES:"[A] wildly funny adventure. . . . Animals in teeny hats, Wonderland-style logic, and loads of wordplay and sarcasm will keep readers giggling all the way through." —Kirkus Reviews"Exhilarating. . . . Fans of a Series of Unfortunate Events will be drawn to this." —Booklist"A rollicking read, full of derring-do and old-fashioned villainy." —School Library...
Read online
  • 106
Alex and the Ironic Gentleman

Alex and the Ironic Gentleman

Adrienne Kress

Science Fiction & Fantasy / Children's, Young Adult / Steampunk

Often mistaken for a boy because of her haircut and name, Alex Morningside is an inquisitive girl of ten-and-a-half who attends the prestigious Wigpowder-Steele Academy. Unfortunately, though she loves to learn, Alex just can’t bring herself to enjoy her classes. Her teachers are all old and smelly and don’t seem to know about anything that has happened in the world the past thirty years, and her peers…well they are quite simply ridiculous. Luckily for Alex, the new school year brings an exciting new teacher. Mr. Underwood makes lessons fun and teaches her how to fence. But Mr. Underwood has a mysterious family secret - the swashbuckling and buried treasure kind - and not everyone is glad he has come to Wigpowder-Steele. When the infamous pirates of a ship called the Ironic Gentleman kidnap Mr. Underwood, Alex sets off on a journey to rescue him, along the way encountering a cast of strange and magical characters, including the dashing and sometimes heroic...
Read online
  • 68

The Door in the Alley

The Door in the Alley

Adrienne Kress

Science Fiction & Fantasy / Children's, Young Adult / Steampunk

Featuring a mysterious society, a secretive past, and a pig in a teeny hat, The Explorers: The Door in the Alley is the first book in a new series for fans of The Name of This Book Is a Secret and The Mysterious Benedict Society. Knock once if you can find it—but only members are allowed inside. This is one of those stories that start with a pig in a teeny hat. It's not the one you're thinking about. (This story is way better than that one.) This pig-in-a-teeny-hat story starts when a very uninquisitive boy stumbles upon a very mysterious society. After that, there is danger and adventure; there are missing persons, hired thugs, a hidden box, a lost map, and famous explorers; and there is a girl looking for help that only uninquisitive boys can offer. The Explorers: The Door in the Alley is the first book in a series that is sure to hit young readers right in the funny bone.From the Hardcover edition.
Read online
  • 48
The Reckless Rescue

The Reckless Rescue

Adrienne Kress

Science Fiction & Fantasy / Children's, Young Adult / Steampunk

More mystery, more bravery, more danger, and one amazingly reckless rescue await in the second book in the Explorers series! The perfect read for fans of The Name of This Book Is a Secret and The Mysterious Benedict Society!Reader! Your attention is greatly needed. We have left things unresolved! What began as your average story of a boy stumbling upon a pig in a teeny hat and a secret international explorers society has turned into an adventure of epic proportions. * The bad news: The boy (Sebastian) has been kidnapped by a trio of troublesome thugs. * The good news: His new friend Evie has promised to rescue him! * The bad news: Sebastian has been taken halfway around the world. * The good news: Evie has famous explorer and former Filipendulous Five member Catherine Lind at her side! * The bad news: There's still the whole matter of Evie's grandfather (and the leader of the Filipendulous Five) somewhere out...
Read online
  • 39