Home Home

Home Home

Lisa Allen-Agostini

Literature & Fiction / Short Stories

Fans of Monday's Not Coming and Girl in Pieces will love this award-winning novel about a girl on the verge of losing herself and the unlikely journey to recovery after she is removed from anything and everyone she knows to be home.Moving from Trinidad to Canada wasn't her idea. But after being hospitalized for depression, her mother sees it as the only option. Now, living with an estranged aunt she barely remembers and dealing with her "troubles" in a foreign country, she feels more lost than ever.Everything in Canada is cold and confusing. No one says hello, no one walks anywhere, and bus trips are never-ending and loud. She just wants to be home home, in Trinidad, where her only friend is going to school and Sunday church service like she used to do.But this new home also brings unexpected surprises: the chance at a family that loves unconditionally, the possibility of new friends, and the promise of a hopeful future. Though she doesn't...
Read online
  • 386
Trinidad Noir

Trinidad Noir

Lisa Allen-Agostini

Literature & Fiction / Short Stories

Trinidad Noir reveals the Caribbean island’s darkness and its appeal with an unexpected and gratifying result.Features brand-new stories by Robert Antoni, Elizabeth Nunez, Lawrence Scott, Ramabai Espinet, Shani Mootoo, Kevin Baldeosingh, Vahni Capildeo, Willi Chen, Lisa Allen-Agostini, Keith Jardim, Reena Andrea Manickchand, Tiphanie Yanique, and more.From Publishers WeeklyThe volumes in Akashic's locale-based noir anthology series set outside North America (Dublin Noir, etc.) offer more variety than those set in different major U.S. cities, and this one is no exception. The editors' brief but insightful introduction makes clear that the sun and sea tourist image of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago is at odds with the country's political climate of excess and corruption and an element of society afloat in drugs and guns. While one entry, Robert Antoni's How to Make Photocopies in the Trinidad & Tobago National Archives, mostly comprising stream-of-consciousness letters to mr. robot, may be tough going for noir fans who prefer traditional storytelling, the other 17 stories are solid. The two standouts are Keith Jardim's mystical The Jaguar and Lawrence Scott's Prophet, in which a series of child disappearances in a small but corrupt community builds to an appropriately bleak ending. (Aug.) Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved. From BooklistTrinidad Noir is the best of the international entries in Akashic’s series. Covering the entire island of Trinidad, the stories take readers from the steamy jungle countryside to the tropical beaches and on to the city streets of the capital, where political intrigue thrives. The stories evoke an atmosphere so strong the reader can practically feel the heat, smell the marijuana, and hear the calypso music. The authors do an especially good job with the dialogue, portraying the speech rhythms and slang of the distinctive Caribbean island. --Jessica Moyer
Read online
  • 52