JENNIFER LYNN ALVAREZ SERIES:

Riders of the Realm #3

Riders of the Realm #3

Jennifer Lynn Alvarez

Children's / Fantasy / Fiction

From the author of the Guardian Herd series comes the final book in a thrilling fantasy adventure trilogy that SLJ called "perfect for fans of Erin Hunter's Warriors series." Echofrost, Shysong, and all of Storm Herd are finally free, but their freedom came with a price. Sandwen Rider Rahkki Stormrunner has been captured by the Gorlan giants, who are quickly losing their patience with the Fifth Clan. With Rahkki in grave danger, Storm Herd must join forces with the humans they have long feared to save him.And as sweeping monsoon rains threaten to ravage the region, enemies and friends, tame steeds and wild, will have to engage in one final battle to decide the fate of all three groups—the Sandwens, the giants, and the pegasi.
Read online
  • 685
Riders of the Realm #2

Riders of the Realm #2

Jennifer Lynn Alvarez

Children's / Fantasy / Fiction

The second book in a thrilling fantasy adventure trilogy that SLJ called "perfect for fans of Erin Hunter's Warriors series," from the author of the Guardian Herd series.After winning the wild Pegasus mare named Echofrost in a contest, Rahkki Stormrunner is officially a rider in the Sky Guard army. Rahkki is terrified of heights though, and Echofrost doesn't want to be tamed. But with Echofrost's herd captured by the giants and a fierce battle on the horizon, the duo will have to conquer their fears if they want to fly with the army and free the herd. Meanwhile, back in his village, Rahkki learns of a growing rebellion to overthrow Queen Lilliam. Unfortunately, she suspects Rahkki's behind it, and she places him under intense watch.As Rahkki and Echofrost escape to Mount Crim to save Storm Herd, Rahkki worries that the greatest danger may not come from the impending battle against the giants, but from within his own clan.
Read online
  • 504
Across the Dark Water

Across the Dark Water

Jennifer Lynn Alvarez

Children's / Fantasy / Fiction

A new and exciting fantasy novel—the first in a trilogy—from the imagination of Guardian Herd series author Jennifer Lynn Alvarez. Perfect for fans of Lisa McMann’s Going Wild, Brandon Mull’s Wild Born, or Erin Hunter’s Warriors series.Deep in the jungles of the Realm, the Sandwen clan live amongst deadly spit dragons and hordes of warring giants. But with their winged battle horses, they manage to keep their people safe.Twelve-year-old Rahkki is a stable groom for the Riders in the Sandwen army, taking care of his brother’s winged stallion. The Sandwens believe they have tamed all the wild pegasi in their land, and turned them into flying warhorses. But when a herd of wild steeds flies over their village, Rahkki and his clanmates are stunned. Meanwhile, a small herd of pegasi have journeyed across a treacherous ocean to settle in a new, and free, land. Led by Echofrost and Hazelwind, the Storm Herd steeds are unaware of the Sandwens. But when the unthinkable happens, Echofrost and the rest of Storm Herd will have to come to trust the Sandwens, or both may not survive.**From School Library JournalGr 5–7—In this first installment of a new trilogy by the author of the "Guardian Herd" series, the members of the Sandwen clan live on lands surrounded by many dangers, including dragons and a group of antagonistic giants. Theirs is a matriarchal society with each of the seven clans ruled by a queen. Not only do they use horses as a way to traverse the land, they also have pegasi which they have trained to help them in battle. Rahkki, a stable groom, cares for his brother's stallion. To the north of the Sandwens, there once lived a herd of wild pegasi, but a large group of them left their herd to find freedom. For Echofrost and Shysong, members of the Storm Herd, freedom was fleeting; they were soon caught by "landwalkers" of the fifth clan. Readers will be enthralled with the way the pegasi, both tame and wild, can communicate with each other and will sympathize with Rahkki as he learns to love Echofrost but also yearns for her to have her freedom. The story is action-packed and full of adventure, making it difficult to put down. Many characters in human and nonhuman form are introduced, leaving readers ready for future volumes in the series. VERDICT A great choice for libraries serving middle grade students who crave more fantasy and a perfect readalike for fans of Erin Hunter's "Warrior" series.—Elizabeth Kahn, Patrick F. Taylor Science & Technology Academy, Avondale, LA Review"An amazing story of survival flecked with themes of captivity and freedom, and a coming-of-age journey with a strong heart." Booklist "Readers will be enthralled. The story is action-packed and full of adventure, making it difficult to put down. A great choice for libraries serving middle grade students who crave more fantasy and a perfect readalike for fans of Erin Hunter's "Warriors" series." School Library Journal "An epic adventure that moves at the speed of flight.Thrilling, compelling and completely enchanting. I fell in love with the Storm Herd, and one particular winged steed that Pegasus himself would fall for!" Kate O'Hearn, author of the international bestselling Pegasus series "Getting swept up in Jennifer Lynn Alvarez's rich world of flying steeds, Landwalkers, giants, and spit dragons was the most fun I've had all year. It's like How to Train Your Dragon meets Watership Down. But with pegasi. A fantastic read!" John Kloepfer, author of the Zombie Chasers series, the Galaxy's Most Wanted series, and Monster's Unleashed "Exhilarating! A well-woven tale full of loyalty,bravery, danger, and love. Readers will be delighted!" Lindsay Cummings, the New York Times bestselling author of the Balance Keeper series ​"A story with both wings and heart, ACROSS THE DARK WATER is a breathtaking ride into a rich and dangerous world. Animal-lovers and thrill-seekers alike will cheer for Echofrost and Rahkki at each of the many twists and turns. Clever, epic, and wildly imaginative!" Kamilla Benko, author of The Unicorn Quest "A beautiful tale of loyalty, adventure, and bravery.Readers will want to soar through the clouds with Echofrost and befriend kind-hearted Rahkki. Across the Dark Water is a captivating opener to the Riders of the Realm trilogy." Jill Diamond, author of the Lou Lou and Pea series "Honor and courage soar on every page!" Jenn Reese, author of the Above World trilogy "A riveting, richly imagined epic tale of loyalty,bravery, and friendship that will make your heart (literally) soar--a pulse-pounding adventure! Jennifer Lynn Alvarez is a true master of her craft." Kristen Kittscher, author of The Wig in the Window and TheTiara on the Terrace "Gorgeously detailed and with heart-wrenching conflict, Across the Dark Water is a breathtaking read sure to please new fans and old. JenniferLynn Alvarez's fantasy world is richly developed with a cast of characters readers will sure to love, both winged and human. I read it as fast as a Pegasus can fly and am already longing for more." Mindee Arnett, critically acclaimed author of Onyx & Ivory
Read online
  • 70

The Guardian Herd

The Guardian Herd

Jennifer Lynn Alvarez

Children's / Fantasy / Fiction

Perfect for fans of the Warriors and the Guardians of Ga'Hoole series, the action-packed fourth and final book in this first arc of the Guardian Herd series follows Star and his nemesis, Nightwing, as they face off in an epic battle that will end everything.Star and his friends have been through constant struggle, and now Star faces his toughest, most deadly challenge yet. Nightwing the Destroyer has captured all the pegasi of Anok, including Star's friends. And when Star learns of Nightwing's deadly plan for the captured herd, he knows the time has come to fight.With no one to turn to but his enemy Frostfire, Star searches Anok with Frostfire to track down Nightwing. And as a violent storm approaches, Star and Nightwing face off amid quaking lands, dangerous winds, and blazing fires, in a battle to end all battles—and one that will determine the fate of all the pegasi in Anok.
Read online
  • 30