Secrets and Dreams

      Jean Ure

Secrets and Dreams

The latest novel from bestselling author Jean Ure - perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson and Cathy Cassidy A warm-hearted story of friendship, school life and drama – and the perils of sharing a secret... After all, even best friends don't tell each other everything...
Read online
  • 70

    Danny Dynamite

      Jean Ure

Danny Dynamite

When Billy the Skid and his nasty gang of mountain bikers ride into Bodley Street and ride menacingly up and down, Danny and friends are determined to fight back. They know bullies must be stopped - the question is how? After a little thought, Danny comes up with an ingenious plan and enlists the help of the twins, Daisy and Donna. All will be well providing Danny can lure Billy into the spooky graveyard and sprint through like dynamite!

A cheering story for new readers, with a cosy setting, a clear triumph for Danny against the bully and told with lots of humour.

Read online
  • 70

    Dazzling Danny

      Jean Ure

Dazzling Danny

Danny loves dancing, but not the funky, popular variety that would have his friends green with envy; no, Danny loves Ballet. A 'Billy Elliot' for younger readers by this renowned ballet-loving author.

Danny loves ballet, but he daren't admit it to his mates. But one of his teacher's knows, and she casts Danny in the starring ballet role in the end of term show at school. But Danny is also in the school football team and the rehearsals for the show clash with team nights. How can be maintain his cool with his peers and still star in the performance. Mixups and mayhen ensue as several fibs are told to parents, friends and siblings. But at the end of the day, is Danny sick as a parrot or over the moon? On performance night, Danny is simply DAZZLING!

Read online
  • 70

    Pick 'n' Mix

      Jean Ure

Pick 'n' Mix

The second fantastic book about ten-year-old FRANKIE FOSTER ? the girl who wants to help, but ends up causing chaos! Frankie Foster loves fixing people's problems. Her help might not always be welcome ? and she might cause the odd total disaster ? but Frankie always fixes things. Eventually! When Frankie?s mum agrees to have a friend?s daughter to stay for a fortnight, it falls on Frankie?s shoulders to look after Amelia. Having another girl share her broom cupboard of a bedroom is one thing, but wherever Amelia goes, trouble seems to follow, however hard Frankie tries to keep her out of it!Frankie certainly gets more than she bargains for with Amelia, but in typical Frankie fashion, she soon realises how being different is no bad thing and learns some important lessons along the way? like the true meaning of friendship and how to keep life ?sweet?!
Read online
  • 67

    Bug Eyed Monsters

      Jean Ure

Bug Eyed Monsters

"Mr. Snitcher is an alien! Pass it on..."

Nobody knew where the rumour came from. Most of the boys think it's a joke. But the more Joe and Andy think about it, the weirder Mr. Snitcher starts to look. Is he really an alien? And how about the rest of the teachers? Laugh-out-loud school story with a sci-fi twist.

Read online
  • 67

    Freaks Out!

      Jean Ure

Freaks Out!

The first book about ten-year-old FRANKIE FOSTER -- the girl who wants to help, but ends up causing chaos!

Frankie Foster loves fixing people's problems. Her help might not always be welcome -- and she might cause the odd total disaster -- but Frankie always fixes things. Eventually!

Frankie's best friend Skye, who's pretty serious at the best of times, is acting even more quiet than usual, so it's up to Frankie and their other best friend, Jem, to find out what's up.

And when Skye confesses that she's lost a very special pencil, bequeathed to her by her granny, Frankie is determined to discover what's happened to the precious heirloom. In fact, she's SO determined to help, she's prepared to go to some extraordinary lengths... with some hilarious and very spooky consequences!

Read online
  • 65

    Monster in the Mirror

      Jean Ure

Monster in the Mirror

A woolly dog and a fluffy cat live together in perfect harmony – until the arrival of a tiny kitten. Heartwarming story from a renowned author.Woffles is a dog. Very big and woolly.Stretch is a cat. Very smooth and slinky.But one day, this contented pair have a new addition to their family. A big ball of black fluff in the form of a very naughty kitten – Muffy – who holds up her claws with her nails sticking out so they look like pins on a pin cushion. And Muffy decides to play tricks on Woffles and mayhem ensues. It's up to Stretch to restore harmony to the household . He does so by introducing Muffy to a monster – her own reflection in a long mirror in the upstairs bedroom. Muffy is tamed. Meanwhile Woffles, thinking there is a monster in the upstairs bedroom refuses to go anywhere near it, until persuaded to by Stretch to be brave. What confronts Woffles is a big and woolly dog. So Muffy the kitten seeks protection from the monster in the mirror from Woffles; And Woffles...
Read online
  • 65

    Bonnie

      Jean Ure

Bonnie

Four stray dogs, all with a story to tell of their rescue and how they came to live at Munchy Flats Cottage, with their people Flossie and Joe. This is Bonnie's story . Poor little Bonnie was a pathetic, timid little dog. As a puppy she was taken to a loving home, where her People – Alison and Jake – adored her. But they started arguing and eventually split up. Jake left home and Bonnie was left with Alison who wasn't quite as kind as her partner had been. When Alison's new friend moves in, he doesn't particularly like dogs and Bonnie finds herself ignored for most of the time. She escapes to the countryside but injures her paw on a rusty nail and is bleeding and frightened. Buster – that very brave dog – finds her and coaxes her out The Munchy Flats People find both dogs and taken them home to their growing family!
Read online
  • 63

    Bouncer

      Jean Ure

Bouncer

Four stray dogs, all with a story to tell of their rescue and how they came to live at Munchy Flats Cottage, with their people Flossie and Joe. The Third Chums title in which Bouncer comes to live at Munchy Flats with Buster and Bella. Bouncer is a very lively little Jack Russell terrier. He's a cheeky young whipper snapper and Buster doesn't like it when he starts digging up his garden! Bouncer is just a nuisance to the other dogs and Buster decides he needs taking down a peg or two. However, he doesn't need to because a farmer – with a gun – does it for him. Bouncer has the shock of his young life when the gun goes off but he is still too lively for his owner. Bouncer turns up again at Munchy Flats Cottage with a label round his neck 'My name is Bouncer and I have been a naughty boy. But I am not a bad boy at heart. Please give me a second chance.'! So Bouncer joins Bella and Buster at Munchy Flats Cottage – where he is a good boy, at heart!
Read online
  • 62

    The Kissing Game

      Jean Ure

The Kissing Game

Salvatore d'Amato is determined to get a kiss before his birthday - easier said than done. From the bestselling and much-loved Jean Ure.

No child is ever ordinary, and certainly not Salvatore d'Amato -- or Sally Tomato, as he's sometimes called. He's out to get a girl and he has a plan: he's going to write some Disgusting Ditties -- one for each letter of the alphabet, and start some secret body-building, too. That way he's bound to attract someone. (But he doesn't want his sister to know his plans...)

Jean Ure perfectly captures the lives of ordinary children -- their lives, with all their ups and downs, are presented with courage, humour and tenacity. These are special children who any child can relate to and will draw inspiration and hope from their stories of their lives.

Read online
  • 61

    Love and Kisses

      Jean Ure

Love and Kisses

A fun and feisty novel from master storyteller Jean Ure -- with a gorgeous look to appeal to all girls who love real-life stories.

Thirteen-year-old Tamsin has never had a boyfriend, and she's starting to feel left behind. Even her ten-year-old sister has a boyfriend, so surely it must be her turn soon! When Tamsin meets Alex, she just can't stop thinking about him, and she's thrilled when he asks her out on a date. But he's sixteen and has already left school. Before she knows it, Tamsin is lying about her age and going behind her parents back... but for how long can she keep up the pretence?

A charming story about the innocence of first love -- and learning to do the right thing.

Read online
  • 59

    Gone Missing

      Jean Ure

Gone Missing

Jean Ure returns with more warmth and wit in a brilliant book about what happens when two girls decide to run away from home.

Fourteen-year-old Jade is fed up with fighting with her mum and step-dad, and her shy sixteen-year-old friend Honey is having a miserable time with her mum, but when Jade decides they should both run away, Honey isn't so sure.It's only when they get to London and things don't work out quite how they expected that Honey shows she has hidden depths, and Jade realises that home is not so bad after all...

Read online
  • 58

    Lemonade Sky

      Jean Ure

Lemonade Sky

The poignant, heart warming and beautifully written new standalone novel from the best-loved and original Queen of Tween, whose books are described by Jacqueline Wilson as "funny, funky, feisty - and fantastic reads!".

Ruby, Tizz and Sam are sisters. At 12, Ruby is the oldest but with all the stuff she has to worry about right now, sometimes she feels more like the mum of the family.

And speaking of mums, the sisters do have one, and she loves her three girls to the moon and back, but
she suffers from something called bipolar disorder which can sometimes make life very difficult...

A poignant, moving and uplifting story about family and friendship by the original Queen of Tween, Jean Ure.

Read online
  • 56

    Eggs on Legs

      Jean Ure

Eggs on Legs

Gems is a series of books written specifically for struggling girl readers. In this title Lara is tired of being second best next to her smarmy cousin Nathan. The town's annual writing competition is coming up, but she has no ideas! If only something would drop into her head. Suddenly, she finds an 'egg thing' in the compost heap in her garden. When the egg starts making strange squeaking sounds, she knows she has to rescue it! In the dead of night, there are strange lights from the garden. There are two even larger egg creatures standing on the compost heap! Is this an invasion? Or do they come in peace?

Read online
  • 55

    Star Crazy Me

      Jean Ure

Star Crazy Me

A brilliant new comedy drama from Jean Ure, all about the ups and downs of seeking fame.

Carmen is in Year 9 and has serious ambitions to be a rock star. She has a great voice, has taught herself to play the guitar, and with one of her best friends, Josh, actually writes her own songs. The school is having a Top Spot contest for would-be pop stars, and Carmen eagerly puts her name on the list. But when Carmen hears a spiteful girl at her school make comments about her weight, she bunks off school and swears she is never going back...

Read online
  • 54