The New David Espinoza

The New David Espinoza

Fred Aceves

Fred Aceves

This own voices story from the acclaimed author of The Closest I've Come unflinchingly examines steroid abuse and male body dysmorphia. Perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Matt De La Peña.David Espinoza is tired of being messed with. When a video of him getting knocked down by a bully's slap goes viral at the end of junior year, David vows to use the summer to bulk up— do what it takes to become a man—and wow everyone when school starts again the fall.Soon David is spending all his time and money at Iron Life, a nearby gym that's full of bodybuilders. Frustrated with his slow progress, his life eventually becomes all about his muscle gains. As it says on the Iron Life wall, What does not kill me makes me stronger.As David falls into the dark side of the bodybuilding world, pursuing his ideal body at all costs, he'll have to grapple with the fact that it could actually cost him everything.
Read online
  • 496
The Closest I've Come

The Closest I've Come

Fred Aceves

Fred Aceves

Read the book Morris Award finalist Sonia Patel called "a brilliant, subtle debut," and Kirkus Reviews hailed as "heart-wrenching, funny, hopeful, and not-to-be-missed" in a starred review!The Closest I've Come is a must-read from talented first-time author Fred Aceves, in the tradition of Walter Dean Myers.Marcos Rivas yearns for love, a working cell phone, and maybe a pair of sneakers that aren't falling apart. But more than anything, Marcos wants to get out of Maesta, his hood, away from his indifferent mom and her abusive boyfriend—which seems impossible.When Marcos is placed in a new after-school program, he meets Zach and Amy, whose friendship inspires Marcos to open up to his Maesta crew, too, and starts to think more about his future and what he has to fight for. Marcos ultimately learns that bravery isn't about acting tough and being macho; it's about being true to yourself.The Closest I've Come is a story about...
Read online
  • 19