The Postcard

      Fern Britton

The Postcard

The new witty and warm novel from the Sunday Times best-selling author and TV presenter, Fern Britton. Secrets. Sisters. The summer that changed everything . . . Life in the Cornish village of Pendruggan isn't always picture perfect. Penny Leighton has never told anyone why she's estranged from her mother and sister. For years she's kept her family secrets locked away in her heart, but they've been quietly eating away at her. When an unwelcome visitor blows in, Penny is brought face to face with the past. And a postcard, tucked away in a long-hidden case, holds the truth that could change everything. Young Ella has come back to the place where she spent a happy childhood with her grandmother. Now she's here to search for everything missing in her life. Taken under Penny's broken wing for the summer, the safe haven of Pendruggan feels like the place for a fresh start. Soon, however, Ella starts to wonder if perhaps her real legacy doesn't lie in the past at all.
Read online
  • 69

    A Cornish Carol

      Fern Britton

A Cornish Carol

A wise and witty short story that is full of Christmas cheer from the best-selling author and TV presenter, Fern Britton. This will be one Christmas they'll never forget... Piran Ambrose is the epitome of brooding male. But Pendruggan's Mr Rochester is in danger of becoming its Ebeneezer Scrooge when he is driven to distraction by the villager's over-the-top Christmas celebrations. How could the cringeworthy amateur village production of Aladdin bring seasonal cheer to anyone, he wonders? And do the village children really have to arrive at his cottage door every single night in December with their terrible recorders and discordant singing? But when Piran's bad temper risks spoiling Christmas for everyone, something drastic needs to be done. So, over one Christmas Eve, three very special people pay Piran a visit, determined to show him what Christmas is really all about...
Read online
  • 60

    A Good Catch

      Fern Britton

A Good Catch

The new witty and warm novel from the best-selling author and TV presenter, Fern Britton. Perfect for fans of Katie Fforde, Carole Matthews and Jane Costello. Even happy families have their little secrets... Greer Clovelly seems to have it all, beautiful, chic and slender, she's used to getting her own way. Greer has been in love with Jesse Behenna since her first day at school and she's determined that one day, they'll be married. After all, a marriage between them would join two dynasties of Cornish fishing families together to make one big, very prosperous one. For her friend, Loveday Chandler – plump, freckled and down-to-earth – living in the shadow of her more glamorous and talented friend has become a way of life. She loves Jesse too, but knows that what Greer wants, she usually gets.Jesse, caught in the middle, faces an agonising choice. Should he follow his heart or bow to his father's wishes? And what about his best friend Mickey, who worships the ground that Loveday...
Read online
  • 52

    Hidden Treasures

      Fern Britton

Hidden Treasures

Fern’s warmth, insight and humour combine to deliver a hugely enjoyable novel that will speak to women everywhere. Helen Merrifield has said goodbye to her philandering husband and her swish West London house, to live in an idyllic country cottage in the heart of a postcard-perfect village in Cornwall. Putting the past behind her, Helen throws herself into country life and soon makes a new set of eccentric friends. To her surprise, Helen finds herself the love-interest of two very different men: the kind, gentle, desperate-for-love-and-sex Simon and the darkly enigmatic local historian Piran. Whilst Helen is getting to grips with her new life, her oldest and dearest friend, Penny, a hot-shot TV Producer, has decided that the village is the perfect setting for her new TV series. When the cast and crew descend, two worlds collide, and Helen is thrown headlong into 5am wake-up calls and temperamental celebrities. In the midst of all this, Helen stumbles across a forgotten old tin chest full of Edwardian treasures. Who do they belong to? Will the unpleasant historian Piran help her to find out or will Simon have the key? And, as Helen finds herself the focus of Simon and Piran’s attentions, it looks like her ex-husband is planning to put in an unscheduled appearance. Will Helen embrace the future, or is it too difficult to let go of the past?

Read online
  • 36

    The Stolen Weekend

      Fern Britton

The Stolen Weekend

A sparklingly brilliant short story from the wonderfully warm and wise Fern Britton - the Nation's favourite TV presenter. Fern Britton weaves a warm and witty short story set in Cornwall, full of mischief and fun! Best friends Penny Leighton and Helen Merrifield have swapped their hectic London lives for the leisurely pace of life in the pretty Cornish village of Pendruggan.Penny is in constant demand and juggling her life as a vicar's wife alongside her day job as a hotshot TV producer is exhausting.Helen is at the end of her tether. Cornwall has been battered by the worst storms in living memory and the roof of her little cottage is in a terrible state. Her other half, the brooding Piran, isn't being much help.The two women cook up a scheme to leave their Pendruggan men behind and get back to London for a weekend of blissful indulgence. But you know what they say about the best laid plans... Will Penny and Helen's stolen weekend be everything they've dreamed of, or something...
Read online
  • 35

    New Beginnings

      Fern Britton

New Beginnings

A warm, witty and wise debut about the ups and downs of life as a TV presenter When Christie Lynch, journalist and single mother of two, appears as a guest on a daytime TV talk show, she could never have imagined that it would lead to a new career. Spotted by hugely successful talent agent, Julia Keen, Christie can't help but be impressed by Julia's charm and stellar client list. And once Julia takes Christie on as a client, Christie's life changes for ever as Julia secures her a high-profile presenting job on a daily chat show. Christie is immediately thrust into the limelight and, despite the intrusion of the paparazzi in her front garden, she starts to enjoy her new-found wealth and fame. But as her career soars to new heights, her home life starts to suffer when she's forced to spend more and more time away from her children. Will Christie find a way to balance her role as a mother with her increasingly demanding job? And can she make it in the cut-throat world of...
Read online
  • 32

    The Beach Cabin

      Fern Britton

The Beach Cabin

The perfect summer short story from bestselling novelist and broadcaster, Fern Britton. Ed and Charlotte have been married for fifteen years, but they have been drifting apart and now Ed suspects that Charlotte may be involved with another man.He decides a family holiday is just what they need and rents a cottage on the cliffs near the picturesque Cornish village of Pendruggan. He is desperate not to lose Charlotte and hopes that the holiday will bring them closer together again, but Charlotte is wondering what happened to the man she fell in love with.So into their car they all pile, including their teenage daughter Alex, her younger brother, Sam and their enormous Bearded Collie, Max – will their Cornish escape be the holiday to make them... or break them?
Read online
  • 31

    A Cornish Gift

      Fern Britton

A Cornish Gift

Add a little magic to your Christmas with this fun, festive collection of warm and witty short stories from Sunday Times bestselling author Fern Britton. The stories in this collection have previously been published in ebook as A Cornish Carol, The Stolen Weekend and The Beach Hut Christmas comes to the little village of Pendruggan and Cornwall's very own Mr Rochester, Piran Ambrose, discovers the true meaning of the festive season when even he can't resist the village celebrations. Meanwhile, best friends Penny and Helen are embarking on a stolen weekend of blissful indulgence but best laid plans often go awry and the ladies are in for a big surprise. In an idyllic cottage on the Cornish cliffs, the Appleby family and their bearded collie, Molly, are having a holiday to remember. It's time for a little Cornish escape for all. 'Fern Britton has transferred her fun and friendly charm to the page' Good Housekeeping 'Incredibly atmospheric' Sun 'Complicated friendships and tales of a...
Read online
  • 30

    A Seaside Affair

      Fern Britton

A Seaside Affair

The new wonderfully warm and witty novel from Fern Britton, the much-loved TV personality. Perfect for fans of Katie Fforde and Trisha Ashley. When the residents of the Cornish seaside town of Trevay discover that their much-loved theatre is about to be taken over by coffee chain, Cafe au Lait, they are up in arms. It is up to Penny Leighton, hotshot producer and now happily married Cornish resident, to come up with a rescue plan. Armed with only her mobile phone and her contacts book, she starts to pull in some serious favours. The town is soon deluged by actors, all keen to show their support and take part in a charity season at the theatre. One of the arrivals is Jess Tate, girlfriend to TV heartthrob Ryan Hearst. His career is on the rise while hers remains resolutely in the doldrums. But when opportunity comes calling, it isn't just her career prospects that are about to change. Trevay is about to put on the show of its life - but can the villagers, and Jess, hold on to the thing they love the most?

**

Review

Praise for New Beginnings 'Complicated friendships and tales of a chaotic love life make this a must-read.' Woman 'A light-hearted, fun read that perfectly captures the sights and smells of village life.' Heat 'Fern Britton has transferred her fun and friendly charm to the page' Good Housekeeping

About the Author

Fern began her career as a television presenter in 1980 after completing a stage management course at the Central School of Drama. In 1985 Fern became the presenter of the popular Coast to Coast, which lead to presenting roles on prime time television shows, the most iconic of which was on ITV's flagship show This Morning. Fern's warmth, humour, empathy and compassion have made her incredibly popular and she has become a much sought after presenter. In 2008 Fern released her autobiography Fern: My Story, which was a huge bestseller. Fern is deeply committed to a number of charities, in particular those working with and for women, children and childbirth. She lives with her husband Phil Vickery, the well respected chef, and her four children in Buckinghamshire.

Read online
  • 22

    The Holiday Home

      Fern Britton

The Holiday Home

The latest wonderfully witty novel from Britain's favourite TV presenter, Fern Britton.

Two sisters, one house, a lifetime of secrets. Set on a Cornish cliff, Atlantic House has been the jewel in the Carew family crown for centuries. Each year, the Carew sisters embark on the yearly trip down to Cornwall for the summer holidays, but they are as different as vinegar and honey.

Prudence, hard-nosed businesswoman and married to the meek and mild Francis, is about to get a shock reminder that you should never take anything for granted. Constance, homemaker and loving wife to philandering husband Greg, has always been out-manoeuvred by her manipulative sibling.

But now that Pru wants to get her hands on Atlantic House, Connie is not about to take things lying down. When an old face reappears on the scene, years of simmering resentments reach boiling point. But little do the women know that a long-buried secret is about to bite them all on the bottom.

Can Constance and Pru put their feuding aside for the sake of everyone else, or will this family holiday push them all over the edge?

Read online
  • 6