The Turncoat

      Donna Thorland

The Turncoat

They are lovers on opposite sides of a brutal war, with everything at stake and no possibility of retreat. They can trust no one—especially not each other.

Major Lord Peter Tremayne is the last man rebel bluestocking Kate Grey should fall in love with, but when the handsome British viscount commandeers her home, Kate throws caution to the wind and responds to his seduction. She is on the verge of surrender when a spy in her own household seizes the opportunity to steal the military dispatches Tremayne carries, ensuring his disgrace—and implicating Kate in high treason. Painfully awakened to the risks of war, Kate determines to put duty ahead of desire, and offers General Washington her services as an undercover agent in the City of Brotherly Love.

Months later, having narrowly escaped court martial and hanging, Tremayne returns to decadent, British-occupied Philadelphia with no stomach for his current assignment—to capture the woman he believes betrayed him. Nor does he relish the glittering entertainments being held for General Howe’s idle officers. Worse, the glamorous woman in the midst of this social whirl, the fiancée of his own dissolute cousin, is none other than Kate Grey herself. And so begins their dangerous dance, between passion and patriotism, between certain death and the promise of a brave new future together.

READERS GUIDE INCLUDED

Review

"A combination of historical espionage and smoldering romance, Thorland's first novel is a surprising and engrossing tale. Immersing the reader in 1777 Philadelphia, sweeping from decadent high-society balls to the filth of battlefield infirmaries, Thorland exhibits real passion for the time period. Fans of Philippa Gregory and Loretta Chase will findThe Turncoat a thrilling read." -Booklist

"The Turncoat is an exhilarating, intelligent, and superbly intricate spy thriller that keeps its tension vibrating and surprises crackling until the very last page." -RT Book Reviews

"A stay-up-all-night, swashbuckling, breath-holding adventure of a novel...An extraordinary book about an extraordinary heroine."--Lauren Willig, National Bestselling Author of the Pink Carnation series

"Fabulous...A world of spies, suspense, skullduggery, and sex.  You won't want to stop reading."-- New York TimesBestselling Author William Martin

"It's historical romance for those who like military tactics front and center, genealogy gnarled and explicit sex scenes rare (but, uh, pretty darn explicit)." -Philadelphia City Paper

About the Author

Graduating from Yale with a degree in Classics and Art History, Donna managed architecture and interpretation at the Peabody Essex Museum in Salem for several years. She then earned an MFA in film production from the USC School of Cinematic Arts. She has been a Disney/ABC Television Writing Fellow and a WGA Writer's Access Project Honoree, and has written for the TV shows Cupid and Tron: Uprising. The director of several award-winning short films, her most recent project, The Night Caller, aired on WNET Channel 13. Her fiction has appeared in Alfred Hitchcock's Mystery Magazine and Albedo One. She is married with one cat and divides her time between Los Angeles and Salem.

Read online
  • 57

    Mistress Firebrand

      Donna Thorland

Mistress Firebrand

British Occupied Manhattan, 1777. American actress Jennifer Leighton has been packing the John Street Theater with her witty comedies, but she longs to escape the provincial circuit for the glamour of the London stage. When the playwright General John Burgoyne visits the city, fresh from a recent success on the Continent, she seizes the opportunity to court his patronage. But her plan is foiled by British intelligence officer Severin Devere.
Severin's mission is to keep the pleasure-loving general focused on the war effort...and away from pretty young actresses. But the tables are turned when Severin himself can't resist Jennifer Leighton...
Months later, Jenny has abandoned her dreams of stage glory and begun writing seditious plays for the Rebels under the pen name "Cornelia," ridiculing "Gentleman Johnny" Burgoyne and his army—and undermining the crown's campaign to take Albany. By the time Severin meets up with Jenny once again, she is on a British...
Read online
  • 57

    The Rebel Pirate

      Donna Thorland

The Rebel Pirate

"Let Donna Thorland sweep you back to the American Revolution, into
a world of spies, suspense, skullduggery, and sex."
—William Martin, New York Times Bestselling Author of Back Bay


1775, Boston Harbor. James Sparhawk, Master and Commander in the British Navy, knows trouble when he sees it. The ship he's boarded is carrying ammunition and gold...into a country on the knife's edge of war. Sparhawk's duty is clear: confiscate the cargo, impound the vessel and seize the crew. But when one of the ship's boys turns out to be a lovely girl, with a loaded pistol and dead-shot aim, Sparhawk finds himself held hostage aboard a Rebel privateer.

Sarah Ward never set out to break the law. Before Boston became a powder keg, she was poised to escape the stigma of being a notorious pirate's daughter by wedding Micah Wild, one of Salem's most successful merchants. Then a Patriot mob destroyed her fortune and Wild played her false by marrying her best frien...

Read online
  • 38

    The Dutch Girl

      Donna Thorland

The Dutch Girl

The acclaimed author of Mistress Firebrand and The Turncoat continues "her own revolution in American historical romance"* with another smart, sexy, swashbuckling novel set during the American Revolution.
Manhattan and the Hudson River Valley, 1778.
The British control Manhattan, the Rebels hold West Point, and the Dutch patroons reign in feudal splendor over their vast Hudson River Valley estates. But the roads are ruled by highwaymen. Gerrit Van Haren, the dispossessed heir of Harenwyck, is determined to reclaim his inheritance from his decadent brother, Andries, even if that means turning outlaw and joining forces with the invading British. Until, that is, he waylays the carriage of beautiful young finishing school teacher Anna Winters...
Anna is a committed Rebel with a secret past and a dangerous mission to secure the Hudson Highlands for the Americans. Years ago, she was Annatje, the daughter of a tenant farmer who led an uprising against...
Read online
  • 23