The Last Woman in the Forest

The Last Woman in the Forest

Diane Les Becquets

Diane Les Becquets

The national bestselling author of Breaking Wild delivers a riveting and haunting thriller about a woman who fears that the greatest threat to her survival could be the man she loves...Marian Engström has found her true calling: working with rescue dogs to help protect endangered wildlife. Her first assignment takes her to northern Alberta, where she falls in love with her mentor, the daring and brilliant Tate. But after a tragic accident, Marian discovers growing and disturbing inconsistencies about Tate's life, and begins to wonder if the man she loved could have been responsible for the unsolved murders of at least four women.Desperately hoping to clear Tate's name as a serial killer, she reaches out to a retired forensic profiler who's haunted by the open cases. Marian relives her relationship with Tate, but as she circles ever closer to the truth, evil stalks her every move...
Read online
  • 604
Breaking Wild

Breaking Wild

Diane Les Becquets

Diane Les Becquets

A female hunter is lost in the Colorado wilderness and a ranger is bent on finding her, in a moving literary debut that explores the primal instincts that can lead us astray—or lead us home.Amy Raye Latour doesn't mind being alone, sometimes. She can spend days tracking an animal, hours in a tree stand with her crossbow waiting for her shot. Right now, the hunting season is coming to a close and her prey is a magnificent bull elk. But she succeeds only in wounding him, and, in a small act of recklessness, feels compelled to follow him into the woods and complete the kill. Ranger Pru Hathaway and her dog are part of the search crew that sets out to find Amy Raye after the two men she was camping with report her missing. Days go by, then weeks. Amy Raye fails to emerge, but other things do: secrets she's been keeping from her husband, questions about the parents she's estranged from and the past she's left behind. And as a heavy snow begins to fall in...
Read online
  • 72
Love, Cajun Style

Love, Cajun Style

Diane Les Becquets

Diane Les Becquets

It's the summer before Lucy's senior year in high school, and life in her sleepy Louisiana town is about to be turned upside down. Her mama's flirting with the dark stranger who runs the art gallery, her best friends Mary Jordan and Evie have boys on the brain, the drama teacher is sparking some powerful (if very, very wrong) feelings in Lucy, and a new boy has moved to town-Dewey, whose gentle ways captivate her. With everyone, including herself, so embroiled in affairs of the heart, it is any wonder the town of Sweetbay is fixin' to have itself one sweltering summer? For fans of Rebecca Wells and Kimberly Willis Holt, here's a delicious novel sure to be read, loved, and passed along.
Read online
  • 29