The Land Girl

The Land Girl

Allie Burns

Historical / Historical Fiction / Fiction

War changes everything... Emily has always lived a life of privilege. That is until the drums of World War One came beating. Her family may be dramatically affected but it also offers her the freedom that she craves. Away from the tight control of her mother she grabs every opportunity that the war is giving to women like her, including love. Working as a land girl Emily finds a new lease of life but when the war is over, and life returns to normal, she has to learn what to give up and what she must fight for. Will life ever be the same again? Praise for The Lido Girls: 'Is immediately on my "best books of 2017" list' Rachel Burton, author of The Many Colours of Us 'A beautifully-drawn cast of characters blended with meticulous research, so evocative of the era, pull you into a heartwarming page turner' Sue Wilsher, author of When My Ship Comes In
Read online
  • 55
The Lido Girls

The Lido Girls

Allie Burns

Historical / Historical Fiction / Fiction

Escape to the inter-war years in this emotional saga where opportunity can be found at the pool-side in your local lido... Perfect for fans of Pam Evans and Gill Paul Change is in the air... London, 1930s: When Natalie Flacker is dismissed from her prestigious job in PE she loses everything she so carefully built. Destruction of the war still echoes over her and now homeless, jobless and without prospects Natalie is forced to move in with her best friend Delphi's family. But connections can create opportunities and when Natalie is offered a summer job at a Lido, situated on the coast, she jumps at the chance. But is she up to the challenge of taking on a group of women who seems more disorganised than she believes possible? And as Natalie struggles to feel at home in her new life, she must also face the reality she's tried to avoid, as her friendship with Delphi begins to be rocked by love and a future that seems just out of reach... Spend your summer with the Lido Girls!
Read online
  • 51