The Siren

The Siren

Alison Bruce

Mystery & Thrillers / Crime

Sometimes the past just won't stay buried. DC Gary Goodhew is on a pub crawl when he smells smoke. He rushes to the scene and finds a raging house fire, too far gone to stop. The blaze leaves two corpses, but a young boy--who was also inside--is now missing.As the investigation deepens, it becomes clear that the boy's mother, Kimberley, knows much more than she is letting on. With the clock ticking on a child's life, Goodhew begins to sift through the ruins of Kimberley's past--and uncovers an unsettling picture of deceit, murder, and accelerating danger. Fans of Deborah Crombie and Elizabeth George will relish this gripping page-turner.
Read online
  • 70
Under a Texas Star

Under a Texas Star

Alison Bruce

Mystery & Thrillers / Crime

Disguised as a boy, Marly joins a handsome Texas Ranger in the hunt for a con man and they must bring the fugitive to justice before giving up the masquerade and giving in to their passion.When Marly Landers is fooled by con man Charlie Meese, she's determined to bring him to justice--even if it means dressing up as a boy and setting off across the plains to find him. Texas Ranger Jase Strachan is also after Meese, for crimes committed in Texas. He joins forces with the young boy in a journey that takes them to Fortuna, where a murder interrupts their mission. Jase is duty bound to find the killer, no matter the cost.Marly carries out her own investigation and comes to the aid of Amabelle Egan, the sister of one of the suspects. But appearances are deceiving, and Marly is mistaken for Amabelle’s suitor, making her a target for the killer. Not to mention, Charlie Meese is still out there. Under the Texas stars, Marly and Jase are drawn together by circumstances beyond their control, yet fate plots to tear them apart. Will Marly finally get her man? From the AuthorThe book you hold has had many adventures on the road to publication. It started in hospital while recovering from surgery. I wrote the first draft, in long hand, as a novelette. Back home, I put my History degree to work and dig some serious research while transcribing the manuscript to a Commodore Plus4.Orphaned by obsolete technology, the original manuscript clung to life as a printout from a dying dot-matrix printer. When it finally made it into a workable file, it had to wait while I had a couple of kids and took care of my sister and father. Meanwhile I collected far more information on Texas, guns, riding, and the price of beans and ammunition than you would ever want to see in a novel. The trail has been rocky and full of obstacles but, I hope you will agree, worth the journey.
Read online
  • 58

Deadly Season

Deadly Season

Alison Bruce

Mystery & Thrillers / Crime

An Imajin Qwickies™ Mystery/Crime NovellaLast month Kate Garrett was a Police Detective. Now she's a Pet P.I.?Kate recently inherited half her father's private investigation company and a partner who is as irritating as he is attractive. Kate has been avoiding Jake Carmedy for years, but now her life might depend on him.Kate and Jake are on the hunt for a serial cat killer who has mysterious connections to her father's last police case. Kate's father had been forced to retire when he was shot investigating a domestic disturbance. Is the shooter back for revenge? And is Kate or Jake next?
Read online
  • 42
Cambridge Blue

Cambridge Blue

Alison Bruce

Mystery & Thrillers / Crime

SUMMARY:Gary Goodhew is intelligent, intuitive, and the youngest detective at Cambridge's Parkside Station. When Gary discovers the first body in a series of murders involving an eccentric Cambridge family, he gets his chance to work on a homicide investigation. He must use his own initiative to flush out the killer, even though it means risking his job and discovering the truth about the one person he hopes is innocent.Alison Bruce was born in Surrey, United Kingdom, and now lives in Cambridge. She is the author of two previous nonfiction books, "Cambridgeshire Murders" and "The Billingtons, Death in the Family."
Read online
  • 28

The Calling

The Calling

Alison Bruce

Mystery & Thrillers / Crime

Kaye Whiting went to buy a birthday present and didn't come back. When DC Goodhew hears the recording of the mysterious call made to the station, informing them that Kaye is still alive and that a man named Peter Walsh is responsbile, he knows it's more than a prank call.  Why does Mr. Walsh not seem surprised to see Goodhew at his doorstep, and who is the woman who goes to the same diner every day, just so she can watch Mr. Walsh walk out of his building with his new lover?ReviewPraise for Alison Bruce:Bruce’s superior prose elevates this above many other contemporary British police procedurals.”—*Publishers Weekly“Goodhew stands alone. I'm looking forward to more of his investigations.”—Minneapolis Star-Tribune“Smart, ambitious.... A pleasingly different police procedural.”—Kirkus Reviews “[Bruce] develops complex characters and shows an admirable command of language.... Other Goodhew adventures are sure to follow.”—Gumshoe Review Goodhew keeps the tale brisk especially in the latter half as he methodically follows every lead.  Fans will enjoy his efforts to solve the complex case even as readers will try to beat him to the punch as Alison Bruce provides all the clues in plain sight.”—Harriet Klausner, Genre-Go-Round Reviews*About the AuthorAlison Bruce was born in Surrey but moved to Cambridge in 1998. She is the author of two other Gary Goodhew books, Cambridge Blue and The Siren. She is married with two small children.
Read online
  • 7