If You Were Here

If You Were Here

Alice Peterson

Womens Fiction / Chick Lit / Romance

'I can toast to my future, but the thundercloud over my head, the threat of a storm, will follow me like a shadow wherever I go. The truth is, I have a potential bomb in my bag, and who knows when or where it will go off' When her daughter Beth dies suddenly, Peggy Andrews is left to pick up the pieces and take care of her granddaughter Flo. But sorting through Beth's things reveals a secret never told: Beth was sick, with the same genetic condition that claimed her father's life, and now Peggy must decide whether to keep the secret or risk destroying her granddaughter's world. Five years later, Flo is engaged and ready to pack up her life and move to New York with her high-flying fiancé. Peggy never told Flo what she discovered, but with Flo looking towards her future, Peggy realises it's time to come clean and reveal that her granddaughter's life might also be at risk. As Flo struggles to decide her own path, she is faced with the...
Read online
  • 417
You, Me and Him

You, Me and Him

Alice Peterson

Womens Fiction / Chick Lit / Romance

From Alice Peterson, author of the ebook sensation Monday to Friday Man, comes You, Me and Him, a moving and honest account of family, parenthood and love. Josie and Finn are happily married, with promising careers, and a gorgeous young son, George. But despite their apparently enviable lives, George's hyperactivity disorder means the days aren't always easy. Josie’s best friend Justin has always been there for her, and when she finds out she's pregnant again she turns to him for support. She loves George, but it's just such hard work, especially as Josie takes much of the strain. Finn is suspicious. What does Justin want in return for his help? And just how close are they really? Told with her trademark warmth and wit, You, Me and Him was originally Alice’s second novel, but is her third to be released in ebook, following Monday to Friday Man and Ten Years On.About the AuthorAlice Peterson's first novel Look The World In The Eye is published by Black Swan. She also wrote the true story of her battle with Rheumatoid Arthritis, A Will To Win, published in 2001. She lives in West London. You can find out more about Alice at www.alicepeterson.co.uk
Read online
  • 72
A Song for Tomorrow

A Song for Tomorrow

Alice Peterson

Womens Fiction / Chick Lit / Romance

'An inspiring, uplifting novel about an extraordinary young woman who refuses to let anything stand in the way of her love and her dream' Julie Cohen, author of R&J Book Club pick Dear Thing Tom fell in love with Alice the moment he saw her. He realises that being with her will not be easy, but she is a force of nature, a burst of sunlight in his otherwise ordinary world. Some people might look at Alice and think she has everything, but Alice knows she is not like other women. Her life is complicated, unpredictable, difficult. Alice does not like pity. All she wants to do, has ever wanted to do, is sing. Alice has been told not to follow her dreams. So has Tom. But when fate has already dealt a tough hand, it's time to stop listening to everyone else and only follow their hearts.'A Song for Tomorrow is an extraordinary story that goes straight to the heart. Alice Peterson celebrates her namesake with great...
Read online
  • 66

Monday to Friday Man

Monday to Friday Man

Alice Peterson

Womens Fiction / Chick Lit / Romance

What do you do if you're 34, single and recovering from being jilted two weeks before your wedding day? This is the dilemma Gilly Brown finds herself in. While friends are marrying, having children and moving into the depths of the countryside, Gilly finds herself alone in London and holding on to her fractured family with their tragic past. It's time to meet new people. So, she decides to get a Monday to Friday lodger, and after a succession of alarming interviews finally finds the perfect one in the shape of handsome reality television producer Jack Baker. Gilly falls for Jack's charm and is transported into an exciting social whirlwind of parties, dining out and glamour. When Jack is introduced to Gilly's family and friends, it's only the attractive and eccentric Guy, the newest recruit to her dog-walking group, who isn't quite so convinced about Jack's intentions. As Guy watches them grow closer, his suspicions of Jack and his feelings for Gilly deepen. Is Jack so perfect after all...and what exactly does he get up to at the weekends?Review'The story makes pretty easy reading with plenty of free-flowing dialogue' The Press Association. About the AuthorAlice Peterson has written two non-fiction books, a personal story called A Will to Win, which has been updated and republished as Another Alice, and a family memoir based on her grandmother's life in Rhodesia. Two novels followed, published by Black Swan - Look the World in the Eye and You, Me and Him. Alice lives in London.
Read online
  • 65
Letters From My Sister

Letters From My Sister

Alice Peterson

Womens Fiction / Chick Lit / Romance

From the bestselling author of Monday to Friday Manand Ten Years On:Bells is always writing to her sister Katie, but Katie never replies. Preoccupied with her glamorous career in fashion, her busy life and her boyfriend Sam, she just doesn’t have the time.Then Bells announces that she’s coming to stay. She’s not a secret exactly, but . . . Sam doesn’t know she exists. For Bells doesn’t fit into Katie’s perfect world.But when Bells does arrive, everything changes for Katie. Perhaps her perfect life isn’t so perfect after all?Letters From My Sister, originally published as Look the World in the Eye, is a wonderfully funny and moving novel from the bestselling author Alice Peterson.ReviewThis true story of determination and courage cannot fall to move readers' OK Magazine 'I loved this book...warm, honest and funny' - Bella Pollen About the AuthorAlice Peterson wrote a memoir, A Will to Win, which was published in 2001. Look the World in the Eye is her first novel. She lives in West London. You can find out more about Alice at www alicepeterson.co.uk.
Read online
  • 58
One Step Closer to You

One Step Closer to You

Alice Peterson

Womens Fiction / Chick Lit / Romance

After Polly ends her relationship with the father of her young son, Louis, she is determined to move on. All she wants is to focus on her job, her friends and to be a good mum. No more looking over her shoulder. No more complications . . . Then Polly meets Ben. Ben is guardian of his niece, Emily. They become close, with Polly teaching Ben how to plait Emily's hair, and Ben playing football with Louis. Their friendship is unexpected. Polly’s never been happier. But when Louis's dad reappears in their life, all Polly’s mistakes come back to haunt her and her resolve weakens when he swears he has changed. Will she give herself a second chance to love? A heart-warming and touching novel, this is Alice Peterson at her emotional and uplifting best. For fans of Lucy Dillon and Jojo Moyes.
Read online
  • 48
By My Side

By My Side

Alice Peterson

Womens Fiction / Chick Lit / Romance

From the bestselling author of Monday to Friday Man and Ten Years OnOne step can change everything... Cass Brooks loves her job, her boyfriend Sean, her life. Until, leaving home one morning, distracted and hungover, she steps into the path of a truck.When she wakes up, she can’t walk. And suddenly all her hopes and dreams, the plans she’d made with Sean, the future she thought she’d have, seem out of her reach.But then fate intervenes again. Cass meets Ticket, a loyal golden Labrador who refuses to leave her side. And on a flight to Colorado, she sits next to Charlie, who believes he can show her a life full of possibilities, if only she’ll let him.Cass wants her life back the way it was. Charlie knows this cannot be. Yet a future beckons all the same...
Read online
  • 17