Solitaire

Solitaire

Alice Oseman

Young Adult / Contemporary / Graphic Novels

In Solitaire, Alice Oseman has brought to life a vivid, clever, and heartfelt portrayal of what it's like to be a teenager today. This stunning debut novel—which the Times (London) called "The Catcher in the Rye for the digital age"—is perfect for fans of Melina Marchetta, Stephen Chbosky, and Rainbow Rowell.My name is Tori Spring. I like to sleep and I like to blog. Last year—before all that stuff with Charlie and before I had to face the harsh realities of exams and university applications and the fact that one day I really will have to start talking to people—I had friends. Things were very different, I guess, but that's all over now.Now there's Solitaire. And Michael Holden. I don't know what Solitaire is trying to do, and I don't care about Michael Holden. I really don't.
Read online
  • 67

This Winter

This Winter

Alice Oseman

Young Adult / Contemporary / Graphic Novels

A short story, based on characters from Solitaire – praised as 'The Catcher in the Rye for the digital age' The Times I used to think that difficult was better than boring, but I know better now... I'm not going to think about the past few months, about Charlie and me, and all of the sad. I'm going to block it all out. Just for today."Happy Christmas, " I say. The festive season isn't always happy for Tori and her brother Charlie. And this year's going to be harder than most.
Read online
  • 56
Nick and Charlie

Nick and Charlie

Alice Oseman

Young Adult / Contemporary / Graphic Novels

Absence makes the heart grow fonder, right? A short story, based on characters from Solitaire - praised as 'The Catcher in the Rye for the digital age' The Times CHARLIE: "I have been going out with Nick Nelson for two years. He likes rugby, Formula 1, dogs, the Marvel universe, the sound felt-tips make on paper, rain and drawing on shoes. He also likes me." NICK: "Things me and Charlie Spring do together include: Watch films. Sit in the same room on different laptops. Text each other from different rooms. Make out. Make food. Make drinks. Get drunk. Talk. Argue. Laugh. Maybe we're kind of boring. But that's fine with us." Everyone knows that Nick and Charlie are the perfect couple - that they're inseparable. But now Nick is leaving for university, and Charlie will be left behind at Sixth Form. Everyone's asking if they're staying together, which is a stupid question - they're 'Nick and Charlie' for God's sake! But as the time to say goodbye gets inevitably closer, both Nick and Charlie question whether their love is strong enough to survive being apart. Or are they delaying the inevitable? Because everyone knows that first loves rarely last forever...  
Read online
  • 13