Their Final Act

Their Final Act

Alex Walters

Mystery

A serial killer is targeting washed-up entertainers in the Scottish Highlands in this gritty crime thriller by the author of Candles and Roses. Former comic Jimmy McGuire is found dead on the streets of Inverness, his body garroted. Years ago, McGuire had been half of a promising double-act until his partner, Jack Dingwall, was convicted of rape. Soon after, a second corpse is found in an abandoned industrial site on the edge of the Moray Firth—also garroted. Identified as a former musician turned record producer, it is learned that he had also been accused of rape. Meanwhile, Det. Inspector Alec McKay and Chief Inspector Helena Grant are still wrestling with the fallout from a recent case following a devastating acquittal. As the body count rises, the police think they have the killer in their sights. But McKay is concerned that the evidence is too neat. And as the trail leads to a final victim yet to come, time is running out to find the...
Read online
  • 619

Winterman

Winterman

Alex Walters

Mystery

DI Ivan Winterman is a man with a troubled past. The Blitz has left his young son dead and his wife seriously injured. He has made enemies in high places and, with his career going nowhere, he returns to his home town in East Anglia, seeking to rebuild his life in a country gripped by post-war austerity and the coldest winter on record. As the first snow begins to fall, a drunken ex-clergyman stumbles on the semi-mummified body of a small child concealed in a ruined cottage. Days later, a second similar child's body is found in a Fenland dyke. Both bodies have been dead for several years, preserved in the Fens, the cause of death unknown. Winterman, supported by a small team of assorted misfits, finds himself leading the investigation, uncovering a web of connections and secrets in the small rural community. When a further murder victim is discovered, Winterman discovers that the secrets are darker and the threat far more immediate than he'd ever envisaged. And, as the snow finally begins to thaw over the Fens, Winterman realises that his worst nightmares are about to come true…
Read online
  • 395
Nowhere to Hide

Nowhere to Hide

Alex Walters

Mystery

They’re above the law and they’re watching her every move…A compulsively readable thriller, perfect for fans of Mark Billingham and Peter Robinson.The lines between good and bad are indistinguishable…On the North Wales coast two people traffickers are brutally murdered; a drug dealer is mown down in inner-city Stockport and in a remote Pennine cottage a police informant is shot dead. Seemingly random, these murders are the work of one professional hitman.Reluctantly, Marie Donovan takes on another undercover role and finds herself working with DI Jack Brennan, a high-flying detective with a tarnished career. Soon, mistrustful of each other and their superiors, both begin to suspect that they are mere pawns in a complex game of criminal rivalry and police corruption.As Marie struggles to uncover the truth, she realises that nothing is as it seems. With every move, she draws the threat ever closer until ultimately the killer is watching Marie herself. Out on her own, she finds herself with no friends, no-one to trust and nowhere to hide.ReviewPraise for Trust No One: 'A relentlessly exciting debut crime novel.' Hull Daily Mail About the AuthorAlex was educated in Nottingham and at Cambridge University. After leaving university, he worked in management roles in the oil industry, broadcasting and banking, before moving into management consultancy. Having worked for various global practices, he now runs his own specialist consultancy firm working in the UK and abroad. In recent years he has specialised in various aspects of the criminal justice sector, including police, prisons and probation, as well as various public bodies including parliaments in the UK and abroad. He lives in Manchester with his three sons.
Read online
  • 69

Candles and Roses

Candles and Roses

Alex Walters

Mystery

Candles and Roses: a chilling serial killer thriller from a critically acclaimed author. Who will live and who will die?  DI Alec McKay is a man haunted by the loss of his daughter.  As he obsesses over a missing person case that is going nowhere, McKay’s investigation is interrupted when bodies start appearing on the Scottish Black Isle. Soon McKay and his team start to identify a disturbing pattern behind the killings. Why are candles and roses placed around the bodies? What is this twisted murderer trying to achieve? While the police follow their own leads, a young woman who discovered the first victim begins an investigation of her own. As the case unfolds McKay will be forced to face his own demons. To catch the killer McKay must discover the true motive and untangle the web of truth and lies. Candles and Roses is the first book in the explosive new DI McKay Series.   Author reviews: "A talent to be reckoned with" The Daily Mail "Walters (shows)... nail biting skill" The Independent Candles and Roses is an acclaimed and stylishly written serial killer thriller which will appeal to fans of authors like Peter Robinson and Mark Billingham. **
Read online
  • 40
Trust No One

Trust No One

Alex Walters

Mystery

A timely and topical thriller which looks at the seedy back dealings of criminals and the police. A terrifically fast-paced novel that has you hooked from the first chapter with a captivating central female lead who you can?t help rooting for. Join Marie Donovan as she races for the truth? As a covert officer specialising in ?deep cover? operations, Marie Donovan works amongst the most dangerous criminals in Manchester. It?s a precarious life that puts Marie on the edge of the law. When she begins an affair with Jake Morton, an informer due to give evidence against crime lord Jeff Kerridge, Marie knows she?s breaking a cardinal rule. Yet just as she comes to her senses and puts an end to their relationship, Morton is murdered. Suddenly Marie?s undercover role is exposed and only one thing is certain ? she can TRUST NO ONE. An addictive read for fans of P.J.Tracey and Peter Robinson.
Read online
  • 24