ALEX CAAN SERIES:

First to Die

First to Die

Alex Caan

Crime / Thriller / Contemporary

A DARK AND EDGY CRIME THRILLER FOR FANS OF SARAH HILARY, KATERINA DIAMOND, ANGELA MARSONS AND ROBERT BRYNDZA.SOMEWHERE IN THE CROWD IS A KILLER Bonfire Night and St James's Park is filled with thousands of Anonymous protesters in a stand-off with the police. When a cloaked, Guido Fawkes mask-wearing body is discovered the following morning, Kate Riley and Zain Harris from the Police Crime Commissioner's office are called in.The corpse has been eaten away by a potentially lethal and highly contagious virus. The autopsy reveals the victim was a senior civil servant, whose work in international development involved saving lives. Why would anyone want him dead? THEY WILL STRIKE AGAIN As the research team looking into the origins of the deadly virus scramble to discover an antidote, first one, then another pharmacist goes missing. Meanwhile, a dark truth starts to emerge about the murder victim: he was an aggressive man,...
Read online
  • 414
Cut to the Bone

Cut to the Bone

Alex Caan

Crime / Thriller / Contemporary

A DARK AND GRIPPING DEBUT FOR FANS OF SARAH HILARY AND THE FALL . . . One Missing Girl. Two Million Suspects. Ruby is a vlogger, a rising star of YouTube and a heroine to millions of teenage girls. And she's missing . . . But she's an adult - nothing to worry about, surely? Until the video's uploaded . . . Ruby, in the dirt, pleading for her life. Enter Detective Inspector Kate Riley; the Met's rising star and the head of a new team of investigators with the best resources money can buy. Among them, Detective Sergeant Zain Harris, the poster boy for multiracial policing. But can Kate wholly trust him - and more importantly, can she trust herself around him? As hysteria builds amongst the press and Ruby's millions of fans, Kate and her team are under pressure to get results, and fast, but as they soon discover, the world of YouTube vloggers and social media is much darker than anyone could have imagined. And the videos keep coming . . . **
Read online
  • 29