Accidental Agent

Accidental Agent

Alan Judd

Fiction / Biography

'Plotting in the best le Carré tradition' Mail on Sunday 'A well researched plot, intelligent prose and topicality' SpectatorFrom the author of Legacy, now a major BBC Film, and The Kaiser's Last Kiss comes a brilliant new novel for fans of John le Carre, Mick Herron and Charles Cumming. Brexit looms and Charles Thoroughgood, Chief of MI6, is forbidden for political reasons from spying on the EU. But when an EU official volunteers the EU's negotiating bottom lines to one of his officers, Charles has to report it. Whitehall is eager for more but as the case develops Charles realises that it may not be quite what it appears. At the same time, he finds he has a family connection with a possible terrorist whom MI5 want checked out. In both cases, Charles is forced to become his own agent, seeking what he really does not want to find. 'Charles Thoroughgood, Chief of MI6, keeps the flame of true espionage...
Read online
  • 632
Shakespeare's Sword

Shakespeare's Sword

Alan Judd

Fiction / Biography

From the author ofLegacy, now a major BBC Film, comes a brilliant new historical crime novella for fans of Antonia Hodgson and CJ Sansom.'To Mr Thomas Combe my sword.' These six words in Shakespeare's will tell us that Shakespeare had a sword. Did he wear it? Did he use it? What sort was it? When and why did he get it? What happened to it? Might it – does it – still exist? These questions plague Simon Gold, an antiques dealer. He believes he has identified the sword as belonging to a customer, an unworthy owner indifferent to cultural icons and uninterested in history. Simon is desperate to acquire the sword, but how? How far is he prepared to go to get it? In alliance with Charlotte, his customer's attractive and disaffected wife, Simon finds himself going farther than he had intended - and finds, too, that Charlotte is rather more than she appears.Praise for Alan Judd: 'Judd has an infallible grasp of intelligence'...
Read online
  • 514

A Breed of Heroes

A Breed of Heroes

Alan Judd

Fiction / Biography

After university and Sandhurst, Charles Thoroughgood has now joined the Assault Commados and is on a four-month tour of duty in Armagh and Belfast. The thankless task facing him and his men -- to patrol the tension-filled streets through weeks of boredom punctuated by bursts of horror -- takes them through times of tragedy, madness, laughter and terror.Alan Judd tells Thoroughgood's tale with verve, compassion and humour. The result is an exceptionally fine novel which blends bitter human incident with army farce.
Read online
  • 48
Inside Enemy

Inside Enemy

Alan Judd

Fiction / Biography

Charles Thoroughgood is now the recently-appointed chief of a reconstituted MI6, married to his predecessor's widow and tasked with halting the increasingly disruptive cyber attacks on Britain, which are threatening government itself and all the normal transactions of daily life - not to mention a missing nuclear missile-carrying submarine. At the same time another aspect of Charles Thoroughgood's past emerges with the murder of one of his former agents and the escape from prison of a former colleague turned traitor, whom Charles Thoroughgood had helped convict. Charles Thoroughgood ploughs a lonely furrow in Whitehall in his belief that all these elements are connected, a theory which dramatically gains credibility when his wife, Sarah, is kidnapped. Praise for Alan Judd's novels:* 'Judd has an infallible grasp of intelligence' Spectator* 'Wonderful. One of the best spy novels ever' Peter Hennessey on Legacy* 'Entertaining and compulsively readable'...
Read online
  • 39
Uncommon Enemy

Uncommon Enemy

Alan Judd

Fiction / Biography

From a prison cell, in which he has been held on suspicion of breaking the Official Secrets Act, Charles Thoroughgood awaits not only his bail, but also the reappearance of the woman whom all the major roads in his life have led back to. After his years in the army and then with MI6, Charles has begun a new chapter in his life with the Secret Intelligence Agency, shadowing the movements of a suspected double agent. Charles knows that he has nothing to hide, and as he casts his mind over the course of recent events, he begins to suspect a more sinister motivation, both personally and politically, behind his incarceration...
Read online
  • 37

Tango

Tango

Alan Judd

Fiction / Biography

Life is suddenly looking up for William Wooding. Thirty-five, overweight, sedately employed and unhappily married, he is given the chance to escape to a new life in South America.There he runs the English Bookshop and discovers a different kind of existence: anarchic staff, a beautiful prostitute called Theresa, intrigue at Maria's Tango Club (the local house of pleasure) and a country heading for a bloody coup. Wooding discovers that the country's young president is an old school friend and as a consequence finds himself recruited by the mysterious Mr Box of British Intelligence to investigate what is going on...Tango is a hugely enjoyable mixture of sexual escapades, revolutionary politics, and intelligence-gathering in exotic landscapes. It confirms Alan Judd as the contemporary successor to Evelyn Waugh.'Very entertaining...it makes you want to turn the pages. No mean achievement' Sunday Telegraph'Well-constructed, witty and at times moving' Independent'An...
Read online
  • 36
The Kaiser's Last Kiss

The Kaiser's Last Kiss

Alan Judd

Fiction / Biography

A fictionalised account of the Kaiser Wilhelm's last years in Nazi-occupied Holland. It is 1940 and the exiled Kaiser is living in Holland, at his palace Huis Doorn.The old German king spends his days chopping logs and musing on what might have been. When the Nazis invade Holland, the Kaiser's Dutch staff are replaced by SS guards, led by young, eager Untersturmfuhrer Krebbs, and an unlikely relationship develops between the king and his keeper. While they agree on the rightfulness of German expansion and on holding the country's Jewish population accountable for all ills, they disagree on the solutions. Krebbs's growing attraction and love affair with Akki, a Jewish maid in the house, further undermines his belief in Nazism. But as the tides of war roll around them, all three find themselves increasingly compromised and gravely at risk. This subtle, tender novel borrows heavily from real history and events, but remains a work of superlative, literary fiction.Through Judd's...
Read online
  • 34
The Noonday Devil

The Noonday Devil

Alan Judd

Fiction / Biography

Robert Stevens and Tim Albright are in their final term at Oxford. Their exams are looming larger and larger on the horizon. But more important to both of them is the production of the fierce Jacobean tragedy, 'The Changeling', which Robert is directing. Along with them, we follow the fortunes of Gina, the seductive and enigmatic leading lady in the play; Chetwynd, the bizarre older student who travels around with a revolver; and Anne, the gentle wife of Robert's tutor. Spiced with humour and anarchy, 'The Noonday Devil' is a masterly work of fiction whose underlying theme, the deadly trap of sloth, leads to an unexpected and almost unbearable climax.'A gently philosophical, violently human commentary... a story that holds its ironical secrets to the bitter end' Mail on Sunday'Mr Judd has imparted a wholly original flavour... The novel is so well made, so vibrant with life, that it is a pleasure to read' Scotsman
Read online
  • 32
Out of the Blue

Out of the Blue

Alan Judd

Fiction / Biography

A beautifully written, highly emotional love story about an RAF pilot in WWII, from the acclaimed author of Legacy. Frank Foucham risks his life night after night flying raids over Germany. The war shows no sign of ending and Frank is scared his luck is running out. On a rare day off, fishing for relaxation, he meets Kenneth Ovenden. Forging an immediate friendship based on shared wartime experiences, Frank is then introduced to Kenneth's daughter-in-law Vanessa. Their connection is immediate. With an urgency that the shadow of war brings, these two must follow their hearts before time runs out.
Read online
  • 26
Legacy

Legacy

Alan Judd

Fiction / Biography

Charles Thoroughgood, hero of Alan Judd's classic A Breed of Heroes, has left the army to be trained by MI6 in the arts of the Cold War. Nothing could prepare him, however, for the unexpected inheritance left him by his late father, which leads him back into an old school friendship with Viktor, a Russian diplomat living in London, and beyond that into the murky world of Soviet espionage at the height of the nuclear threat to the West.
Read online
  • 20

Short of Glory

Short of Glory

Alan Judd

Fiction / Biography

A satirical romp through the corridors of the Foreign Office as Patrick Stubbs is posted as third secretary in the British Embassy in Lower Africa. Mayhem awaits him - an absent-minded ambassador, a bullying first secretary with a dipsomaniac wife, and a crush on the police chief's wife! 'A marvellously thoughtful farce, a remarkable portrait of contemporary South Africa, combine argument of this complexity with an ebullient comic gift and you have a superb novel' Sunday Times 'Alan Judd's characters are serious. So is Alan Judd. You will laugh like mad' The Times 'Comedy is a deadly weapon and Mr Judd wields it in a fashion that brings you close to tears' Sunday Telegraph
Read online
  • 8