The Operative s-3

The Operative s-3

Falconer, Duncan

Falconer, Duncan

In war-torn Iraq, Stratton’s closest friend is killed whilst on operation, leaving behind a grieving wife and child. When the widow moves to Los Angeles she is brutally murdered and her child placed in state custody. Stratton, rocked to his foundations by the killing, uncovers a FBI plot to hide the crime and sets off on a private operation of revenge that eventually pits him against one of the most powerful East European crime syndicates in America. Hunted by the CIA and FBI as well as a brutal army of Albanian mobsters and armed only with his wits and an extraordinary skill with explosives, Stratton relentlessly pursues his private war, a fight he suspects could be his last. This is another enjoyable Falconer weave of thrill and action wrapped in the rich authenticity that defined his previous novels that provides a roller-coaster ride across half the globe.
Read online
  • 5
Tru and Nelle

Tru and Nelle

G. Neri

G. Neri

Long before they became famous writers, Truman Capote (In Cold Blood) and Harper Lee (To Kill a Mockingbird) were childhood friends in Monroeville, Alabama. This fictionalized account of their time together opens at the beginning of the Great Depression, when Tru is seven and Nelle is six. They love playing pirates, but they like playing Sherlock and Watson-style detectives even more. It's their pursuit of a case of drugstore theft that lands the daring duo in real trouble. Humor and heartache intermingle in this lively look at two budding writers in the 1930s South.
Read online
  • 5

Halfway Home

Halfway Home

Paul Monette

Paul Monette

"Affecting and lyrical...A wise and intensely touching book."--San Francisco Chronicle In Halfway Home, Paul Monette, the National Book Award winning author of Becoming a Man delivers a "fast-paced novel that swings between humor and tragedy, high camp and lowdown realism, gays and straights, winners and losers, people who are dying and people who are afraid to live" (Los Angeles Times). Halfway Home centers around the story of thirty-four year old Tom Shaheen, an actor living with AIDS in southern California who has been forced to retire, because of his illness, to an isolated beach house. Tom's peaceful existence is shaken to the core when he receives a sudden and unexpected visit from his brother, Brian, a former high school football hero who, well-loved and athletic, was Tom's exact opposite while growing up. Brian's visit turns out to be more than Tom bargained for--Brian is seeking safety and sanctuary for himself and his family because of shady dealings in his contractor business back in Connecticut. In the midst of dealing with his brother's crisis, Tom begins to bond deeply with his landlord. Gray--a connection that evolves into a bittersweet love affair, inspiring hope that there can be a life after AIDS. Halfway Home is "an exceptionally honest and expressive work...a satisfyingly sane novel about living in an insane time" (The New York Times Book Review).From Publishers WeeklyAn affecting and timely story of reconciliation, forgiveness and love in the face of AIDS. Copyright 1992 Reed Business Information, Inc. Review"Angry, joyful, funny and sometimes outrageous."
Read online
  • 5
Addicted

Addicted

Ray Gordon

Ray Gordon

So begins Addicted, a no-holds-barred erotic tale by acclaimed author Ray Gordon.Gorgeous young housewife, Helen Hunter, has it all. An attractive, successful husband, money, looks... However, things start to go wrong when he goes away on business. She becomes tired, nervy, anxious, panicky.But on his return her symptoms clear up, and it quickly becomes obvious that something bizarre is going on. She is addicted to sperm... and without it she will suffer.The supply from her husband soon becomes insufficient and she embarks on an incredible sexual journey to satisfy her craving. Enjoying one weird encounter after another, it becomes apparent that too much is never enough...
Read online
  • 5

The Right Kind of Rogue

The Right Kind of Rogue

Valerie Bowman

Romance / Historical Fiction

Can two star-crossed lovers come together—until death do they part? Viscount Hart Highgate has decided to put his rakish ways behind him and finally get married. He may adore a good brandy or a high-speed carriage race, but he takes his duties as heir to the earldom seriously. Now all he has to do is find the right kind of woman to be his bride—ideally, one who's also well-connected and well-funded. . . Meg Timmons has loved Hart, the brother of her best friend, ever since she was an awkward, blushing schoolgirl. If only she had a large dowry—or anything to her name at all. Instead, she's from a family that's been locked in a bitter feud with Hart's for years. And now she's approaching her third London season, Meg's chances with him are slim to none. Unless a surprise encounter on a deep, dark night could be enough to spark a rebellious romance. . .for all time?
Read online
  • 5
The Green Face

The Green Face

Gustav Meyrink

Gustav Meyrink

Meyrink's second, and most mystical, novel from 1916: this is the first time this Dedalus edition has been available in NorthAmerica. Published in Germany to critical and commercial acclaim, it is set in Amsterdam, used as a symbol of European decadence: the city isultimately destroyed. The Green Face has classic Meyrink features: * a mystical wedding * a galaxy of grotesque characters * the hauntingatmosphere of the ghetto In an Amsterdam that very much resembles the Prague of The Golem, a stranger, Hauberisser, enters by chance amagician's shop. The name on the shop, he believes, is Chidher Green; inside, among several strange customers, he hears an old man, who sayshis name is Green, explain that, like the Wandering Jew, he has been on earth ""ever since the moon has been circling the heaven."" WhenHauberisser catches sight of the old man's face, it makes him sick with horror, haunting him. The rest of the novel chronicles Hauberisser'squest for the elusive and horrible old man.Language NotesText: English (translation)Original Language: German
Read online
  • 5
Shepherd of Another Flock

Shepherd of Another Flock

David Wilbourne

David Wilbourne

'Shh, new vicar might be listening . . .'As the newly appointed Vicar of Helmsley, David was looking forward to working in this picturesque market town, set in the beautiful Yorkshire countryside. Admittedly the vicarage, which dated back to the twelfth century, was extremely cold and damp. And not all of his parishioners were impressed by his new-fangled ways. But with the help of the irrepressible Father Bert, a retired cleric and one-time Tail End Charlie, David set about winning over the townsfolk.There was Lord Feversham, the local landowner who at times bore an unnerving resemblance to Henry VIII; fiery Ted, a retired chef who had fought with the Polish Free Army; Frank the singing shepherd, still working as he approached eighty, and redoubtable countrywoman Eva. All had stories of hardship and sacrifice, friendship and love. Charming and moving, Shepherd of A Different Flock is a must-read for fans of authors like Gervase Phinn, James Herriot and...
Read online
  • 5
The Lovers

The Lovers

Catherine Rey

Catherine Rey

The Lovers is an arresting tale, a mystery with a low burn tension, which revolves around the disappearance of Lucie Bruyère. The novel unveils the truth about her charismatic yet subtly controlling partner, the world-famous artist Ernest Renfield. The suspenseful story, both police investigation and multi-voiced Rashomon, ends in a dramatic and powerful illumination.
Read online
  • 5

Much Ado About Murder (Double Barrel Mysteries)

Much Ado About Murder (Double Barrel Mysteries)

Barbara E Brink

Barbara E Brink

Blake and Shelby Gunner's plans to renovate the old boathouse into offices for Double Barrel Investigations go awry when murder comes calling.Autumn in Port Scuttlebutt usually means a stormy Lake Superior, crisp temperatures, vibrant fall colors, and an invasion of deer hunters. This year, there's also a shallow grave.Someone killed Pete Dugan's ex-wife and planted her under his woodpile. The police consider him the obvious suspect, but the Gunner's have other ideas. What does the murder of a pet squirrel, the sighting of a mysterious car, a break-in at the bed & breakfast, and the reappearance of three ex-cons into the community have to do with the murder of a middle-aged legal assistant?No detective worth a grain of salt believes in coincidence... so when things start piling up that seem too quirky to be happenstance, Blake and Shelby have to decipher the clues and come up with the truth before a killer gets away with murder.
Read online
  • 5